One of my poems about life on the street.

 

Drink – Michael Arnold

 

I am lifted from reverie

To see beyond horizons of my soul 

in a place that has no place on earth.

 

I improvise my thoughts

And at risk of driving myself mad

Open my eyes wide.

 

A renaissance confronts me;

Random figures-naked- walk before me.

Are they Gods, the beautiful people

 

Dining on ambrosia,

Existing in pockets of sun

Within verdant pastures?

Have I been transported here?

 

I wrestle with a haze of thoughts,

Hoping to ignore the truth.

Drink has raped my mind once more.

 

I am ensnared in this filthy doorway,

My few belongings beside me;

My world is controvert and dark.

I pick up my bottle.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry and Prose

Leave a Reply

